Question Periodic Data,more than one source

Hi

I'm a newbie to the forum, and faced with a bit of a design dilemma.

Background: We provide information/analysis tools to large utilities. Database is Oracle, and we use php coded webservices to interface with the data.

The problem: We need to source and store data from 3 distinct sources. Sourcing is not the problem. The storing is.

The data from the 3 sources are unrelated, except for the following:

All data is periodic (hourly)

The data sources provide us with the following data:
    1. Measured customer usage data (the fields of interest being customer ID, date_hour,field1A, field1B, field1C, field1D)
    2. Measured production data (unit_id, date_hour, field2A,field2B,field2C)
    3. Measured weather data (station_id, date_hour, temperature, windspeed, precipitation, cloud cover)

Instead of querying these sources directly, we want to import all the data into local storage. This storage will then be used to populate our olap databases.

The question now is:
    What is the best way to do it?

I see 2 possibilities:
    1. Create seperate tables for all 3 of the different sources. One table for weather, one for customers usage, one for production data. Keep the column definitions as is (field1A, temperature, etc etc).Weather data is afterall not the same as production data.

2. Create a single table containing data from all three sources. All the data is afterall timeseries/periodic data. The table will basically have the following columns: entity_id, entity_type,entity_element, hour, value.
    Where
    entity_id = consumer/producer/weather_station id
    entity_type says weather it is consumer/producer/weather_station data
    entity_element says what data element it is, temperature, field1A, field2B etc.
    hour is the hour of measurement
    value is obvious

With the associated anciliary tables.

I think 2) is known as data normalisation.