Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy Unanswered: Using Oracle at home without having to use a host

    Hi,

    I juat want to practice some PL/SQl on the download i got from oracle, however it keeps asking me to log in and give a host. Is there a way round this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    314

    Arrow SQL Plus

    Hi

    U could use the PLSQL directly from the SQL Plus CLI.
    If u r using a PLSQL package, they should also work. By the way, are you aware of the concept of TNS Listener and DB instance.

    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    198

    Re: Using Oracle at home without having to use a host

    Originally posted by mpruthi
    Hi,

    I juat want to practice some PL/SQl on the download i got from oracle, however it keeps asking me to log in and give a host. Is there a way round this?
    No.

    When you installed the software it should have asked you if you wanted to install the default database. If you didn't then you have nothing to run against. If you did then the default database/host is ORCL. The default user ids and passwords are
    SYSTEM MANAGER
    SYS change_on_install

    PL/SQL does not work without a database.
    Jim P.

    Supoorting Oracle, MSSQL7, Sybase 8, & Pervasive. Confusion Reigns

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5

    Re: SQL Plus

    Originally posted by aruneeshsalhotr
    Hi

    U could use the PLSQL directly from the SQL Plus CLI.
    If u r using a PLSQL package, they should also work. By the way, are you aware of the concept of TNS Listener and DB instance.

    Thanx and Regards
    Aruneesh

    i am not aware, could you please tell me exactly what i should do and what they are?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    181
    Am I right in saying you just downloaded the client software ?

    If not, did you create a database on the machine ?

    Rgs,
    Breen.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by Breen
    Am I right in saying you just downloaded the client software ?

    If not, did you create a database on the machine ?

    Rgs,
    Breen.
    i just downloaded client software, and was trying to practice. However -requires logon , password and host

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    198
    Originally posted by mpruthi
    i just downloaded client software, and was trying to practice. However -requires logon , password and host
    You need to go back and download from http://otn.oracle.com/software/produ...l/content.html the
    Oracle9i Database Enterprise/Standard/Personal Edition for Windows NT/2000/XP or whichever version that you need and do an install including the database.
    Jim P.

    Supoorting Oracle, MSSQL7, Sybase 8, & Pervasive. Confusion Reigns

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •