Unhappy Unanswered: Design help please.....

Hello,

I am a newbie and I need to know if I am creating this database properly.

Here is the situation. I have three main components to the database: A user, a report and a profile. Basically it is a security database deciding the access rights to the report defined by the updatable profile.

Here is how I have created the database:

USERS
    ----------
    UID [FK]
    PWD
    First_Name
    Last_Name
    Profile_Id

PROFILES
    ------------
    Profile_Id [PK]
    Profile_Desc

REPORTS
    ------------
    Report_Id
    Report_Desc

PROFILE_REPORTS_LINK
    -----------------------------
    Index [PK]
    Profile_Id [PK]
    Report_Id [PK]

REPORT_ACCESS
    --------------------
    Index
    Access_Selections

If I start off with a UID, my app. would need to retrieve the access_selections based upon the current report selected and the profile_id previously defined by which user is logged in. I hope this makes sense.... I would like to know if there is a better way of doing this and if I am to choose this way, how do I update the PROFILE_REPORTS_LINK table every time I add a new profile or a new report?

Thanks in advance.
    MORI0043

Is it 1-to-1 relationship between USERS and PROFILES? Is UID supposed to be a PK, not FK, and Profile_Id in USERS to be FK? And in PROFILE_REPORTS_LINK Index to stay PK while all other the fields listed are supposed to be FK, not PK, right? And REPORT_ACCESS.Index to be FK? Lastly, can a profile belong to more than one user, which means it's not 1-to-1, but rather 0/1-to-many relationship between PROFILES and USERS? If the answer is YES to all the above but the first one, - then I have one more questions, - what is the purpose of PROFILES table? Unless some additional info is present, - you can easily remove PROFILES and put UID in place of Profile_Id into PROFILE_REPORTS_LINK. Of course, this is only if I am not completely off target

-Sorry... Mistype. UID is a PK.