Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: How to create a table from an existing table.

I'm new to this table and my kniwledge of SQL is of intermediate level.
    Could anyone help me/guide me how to create a tble from a nexisting table, without copying any of the records?
    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.
    Kalpana

try Select * into <your new table name> from <your old table name> where 1 = 2
    Paul Young
    (Knowledge is power! Get some!)

ThankQ

ThankQ very much I have been thinking to include a condition which is always false. Good idea!
    Last edited by kalpana_lloyd; 09-09-03 at 08:41.

Just remember that this will only copy the table structure and NOT handle any indexes, statistics or foreign keys.
    Paul Young

another trouble

Thanks very much Paul.
    Actually my problem is I'm writing a vb program as part of which I have to apply some query on table1 of db1 and save the results in table2 of db2. As of now I just thought of saving the results in the same database i.e db1. But, my real problem is still unsolved. I wonder if you could help me in this! Any ideas you could give!

Wishes
    Kalpana

It's just the fieldnames & data types, so required properties, default settings, all (check, foreign key, primary key) constraints as well as external structures like indices won't be copied.
    Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler! - A. Einstein
    DB Problems? DB Explorer, BTrieve Re-engineering, DB Conversions & ETL? Conversion Tool

Re: another trouble

Originally posted by kalpana_lloyd
    Thanks very much Paul.
    Actually my problem is I'm writing a vb program as part of which I have to apply some query on table1 of db1 and save the results in table2 of db2. As of now I just thought of saving the results in the same database i.e db1. But, my real problem is still unsolved. I wonder if you could help me in this! Any ideas you could give!

Wishes
    Kalpana