Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12

    Unanswered: DB2 Administration server

    I am using db2 udb 7.1 with fixpack 3.5 on linux

    In Contorl center, when i want to do certain functions like "Performance monitoring" then I get error "The DB2 Administration server is not active SQLSTATE 57019".
    I looked help and it asks me to start DB2 Administration server by issuing command DB2ADMIN START.
    But when I give this command from command prompt. It just waits and wait...do nothing for long time.
    What should I do ?

    Thanks
    Amit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    What operating system do you have? BTW there is no such thing as FP 3.5. FP's are in integers from 1-10 for DB2 Version 7.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: DB2 Administration server

    Your Admin Server's db2diag.log is the place to start, I'd think

    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    It is db2 v7.1 with fixpack 3 on linux


    Originally posted by Marcus_A
    What operating system do you have? BTW there is no such thing as FP 3.5. FP's are in integers from 1-10 for DB2 Version 7.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12

    Re: DB2 Administration server

    I checked db2diag.log. There is no log update in this file when I gave this command.


    Originally posted by sathyaram_s
    Your Admin Server's db2diag.log is the place to start, I'd think

    Sathyaram

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    To start the Admin Server, you need to be logged on as the DB2 Admin Server User, which is dasusr1 if you took the default id assignment at installation time.

    You can also set the DB2 Admin Server to autostart at each bootup. See the manual for details.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    I am logged in as admin user. But still problem continues..there is no log in db2diag.log


    Originally posted by Marcus_A
    To start the Admin Server, you need to be logged on as the DB2 Admin Server User, which is dasusr1 if you took the default id assignment at installation time.

    You can also set the DB2 Admin Server to autostart at each bootup. See the manual for details.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456
    Try dropping and re-creating the admin instance. It does not take long and this way you can ensure that your admin instance was created without any error.

    On a different note, did you guys applied any fixpak to this server lately or migrated from earlier version? If yes then post that information.

    dollar

    Originally posted by amit2267
    I am logged in as admin user. But still problem continues..there is no log in db2diag.log

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    Yes I applied FixPAck 3 to Version 7.1 on db2

    Originally posted by dollar489
    Try dropping and re-creating the admin instance. It does not take long and this way you can ensure that your admin instance was created without any error.

    On a different note, did you guys applied any fixpak to this server lately or migrated from earlier version? If yes then post that information.

    dollar

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    41
    You have to update your Admin instance after you install fixpack.

    dasiupdt <db2admin instance name >

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    is there any way to know which are db2admin instance name ?
    under my /home directory i see db2as directory and db2inst1 directory.
    normally i do following
    su - db2inst1
    db2 connect to my_db_name
    and do required things from db2 prompt
    I give db2cc command to open control center.
    Then in control center I just see one instance
    System
    - valinux-system
    - instances
    -db2inst1
    - Databases
    +Sample
    +my_db_name




    Originally posted by kuckoo
    You have to update your Admin instance after you install fixpack.

    dasiupdt <db2admin instance name >

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456
    If you type the commad db2admin it will list the name of the admin instance. For a listing of other instances use the command db2ilist.

    dollar

    Originally posted by amit2267
    is there any way to know which are db2admin instance name ?
    under my /home directory i see db2as directory and db2inst1 directory.
    normally i do following
    su - db2inst1
    db2 connect to my_db_name
    and do required things from db2 prompt
    I give db2cc command to open control center.
    Then in control center I just see one instance
    System
    - valinux-system
    - instances
    -db2inst1
    - Databases
    +Sample
    +my_db_name

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    When I updated db2 v7.1 with fixpack 3 that time I think I have not updated the das. The fix pack was applied few months earlier.

    When I type the command db2admin it gives only one instance name
    db2as

    Now when I tried to give following command as root user
    /user/IBMdb2/V7.1/instance/dasiupdt das
    Then it gives me follwing Error message.

    DBI1101E The instance name is invalid.

    Explanation: Instance name must be the login name of an existing
    user and cannot:

    1. be more than 8 characters long.
    2. start with "sql", "ibm" or "sys".
    3. start with a numeral or contain characters other than a-z, $,
    #, @, _, or 0-9.

    User Response: Try the command again with a valid instance
    name.


    DBI1079I Output is saved in the log file /tmp/dasiupdt.log.23473.

    Explanation: All processed and failed operations have been saved
    into this log file.

    User Response: Do not modify this file in any way. This file is
    for IBM Technical Support reference


    Originally posted by dollar489
    If you type the commad db2admin it will list the name of the admin instance. For a listing of other instances use the command db2ilist.

    dollar

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456
    My short advice, drop the instance and re-create it, we did the same couple of weeks ago and it took only 5 minutes to make it right.

    dollar


    Originally posted by amit2267
    When I updated db2 v7.1 with fixpack 3 that time I think I have not updated the das. The fix pack was applied few months earlier.

    When I type the command db2admin it gives only one instance name
    db2as

    Now when I tried to give following command as root user
    /user/IBMdb2/V7.1/instance/dasiupdt das
    Then it gives me follwing Error message.

    DBI1101E The instance name is invalid.

    Explanation: Instance name must be the login name of an existing
    user and cannot:

    1. be more than 8 characters long.
    2. start with "sql", "ibm" or "sys".
    3. start with a numeral or contain characters other than a-z, $,
    #, @, _, or 0-9.

    User Response: Try the command again with a valid instance
    name.


    DBI1079I Output is saved in the log file /tmp/dasiupdt.log.23473.

    Explanation: All processed and failed operations have been saved
    into this log file.

    User Response: Do not modify this file in any way. This file is
    for IBM Technical Support reference

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    My production database is in db2inst1 and its live and running always. Which instance shoud i drop (db2inst1 or db2as) and recreate and how to do that. Will it effect my existing database. Is it risky to do that.

    Originally posted by dollar489
    My short advice, drop the instance and re-create it, we did the same couple of weeks ago and it took only 5 minutes to make it right.

    dollar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •