When I change the "master" database we have, I then call up all the clients on the network from my computer and overwrite their client versions with mine. Up until now I've always made sure they were out of the database before copying over the new version - I'm sure it never used to allow you to copy over unless there was no one in it. Recently I noticed you can copy over a database with an updated one while the person is still in it. They will notice the changes next time they come out and go back in. This must be new feature of Access 2002. But is it ok to do this? What exactly happens when someone is in an Access database, you copy over that database with a modified one, then they come out at some point and go back into the modified one? Is it ok?