Post Unanswered: Combo box in a query

Hi there

I'm new to this game so I hope this isn't to basic

I am triing to put a combo box from a form [contact] into my query so the user can choose options.

SELECT Contacts.Title, Contacts.FirstName, Contacts.LastName, Contacts.Category, Contacts.Home_PhoneNumber, Contacts.Home_CellPhoneNumber, Contacts.Business_PhoneNumber, Contacts.[Business_Cell phone]
    FROM Contacts
    WHERE ((Contacts.Category) Like [forms]![Contact]![Category]);

I know I am almost there from rearch in other areas but the combo is not happening.

Can any body help me.

Mikeg950
    Mikeg950

the LIKE is expecting something along the lines of
    LIKE "*subStringInQuotes*"

try:
    Like '*" & [forms]![Contact]![Category] & "*'");

izy

Originally posted by izyrider
    the LIKE is expecting something along the lines of
    LIKE "*subStringInQuotes*"

try:
    Like '*" & [forms]![Contact]![Category] & "*'");

izy

Thanks so much I will give that a go.

my reading skills are improving all the time!

now i notice you are using a combo.

LIKE and combo are an unusual pair... the combo is almost certainly returning an exact match to the field you are looking at so you need = rather than LIKE (if for no other reason than it's faaaaaster).

if the field & bound column of the combo is a string:
    = '" & [forms]![Contact]![Category] & "');

and if numeric
    = " & [forms]![Contact]![Category] & ");

Combo box in a query

Hi there izyrider,

Thanks so much for your interest so far. Its still not working properly yet and I'm not sure if we are able to make it work in SQL. I will explain what the user will be doing with this personal contact directory.

In my main menu the if the user wants to view phone numbers as a report of a certain category such as "friends" for example then they click "Preview Phone No" button. At this point it will open the query where instead of entering the certeria by hand as the spelling will have to be exact like: