Thread: SQL query

Unanswered: SQL query

Hi,

I am using IDS 9.3. I would like to write a SQL Query (that needs to be executed using dbaccess) which should basically hang.

Any thougts?

Thanks!!
    Anu_R

eum...

an SQL that hangs the server? Why?

If you really want to crash the server, you can use onmode -I.
    or block th eserver using onmode -c block.

Another thing you can do is set your configuration to make sure that when a dbspace is down, the server waits. Bring a dbspace down. Then do a select from some data from that dbspace.
    rws

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

In your response you mentioned the following statements:

Another thing you can do is set your configuration to make sure that when a dbspace is down, the server waits. Bring a dbspace down. Then do a select from some data from that dbspace

I am pretty new to informix.

Please let me know:
    (1) what configuration variables to set
    (2) how to bring a dbspace down

Thanks,
    Anu_R

Hi,

check th eother thread:

<read-Only database>
    rws

Coul dyou inform me why you want this sql statement to hang?
    There might be an easier solution if I understand the reason why.
    rws

hi,

I want a SELECT query to hang. We have a product which calculates the timeout when we execute a "hanging" SELECT query.

I tried bringing the chunk down and running a select or insert. Both works .. amazingly... i dont know what to do...

Please suggest something.

Regards,
    Anu_R

Ok,

sess1:

begin work;
    create table bla (col1 serial);
    lock table bla in exclusive mode;

---NO COMMIT!!!!!

sess2:

begin work;
    set lock mode to wait;
    select * from bla;

Session 2 will hang until you release the lock in session 1 f.ex. or commit.
    or with the statement UNLOCK. Check sql sysntax guide...
    rws

Hi,

It worked!!

Only change to your query statements was that in Session 2, I should not be issuing a begin work; statement.