Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Menu items

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    50

    Unanswered: Menu items

    Hi folks...

    I use Access 2000. I have few forms in which I have few dropdown items. Now, in stead of that, I want to have menu items, like the way you see righ now on the top of your screen.. Like File, Edit, View, etc... (IE users). Now when you click on any of these, it gives you a list of options and when you click on any of these options, would execute the same. Can I have some thing like this, as my dropdown menu is for selecting a report from it.

    Any help on this point , please...

    Thanx

    Sandeep

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    50

    Re: Menu items

    Originally posted by Sandeep Munshi
    Hi folks...

    I use Access 2000. I have few forms in which I have few dropdown items. Now, in stead of that, I want to have menu items, like the way you see righ now on the top of your screen.. Like File, Edit, View, etc... (IE users). Now when you click on any of these, it gives you a list of options and when you click on any of these options, would execute the same. Can I have some thing like this, as my dropdown menu is for selecting a report from it.

    Any help on this point , please...

    Thanx

    Sandeep
    IAM SURPRISED WHY I DIDN'T GET ANY RESPONSE!! MAY BE IT WAS NOT VERY CLEAR... ANYWAYS, I STILL NEED HELP ON THIS...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    280
    I don't think Access is able to create a menu bar for a form like Visual Basic does. Corrrect if I wrong someone!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    50
    Originally posted by lansing
    I don't think Access is able to create a menu bar for a form like Visual Basic does. Corrrect if I wrong someone!
    OK. In that case, which is the best / easiest way to use VB for my form? Like syntex of it...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    280
    Either create a switchboard or create command buttons for all of your form and organize it the way you want it. Access should have a WIZARD to help you with all of this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    11

    Re: Menu items

    Originally posted by Sandeep Munshi
    Hi folks...

    I use Access 2000. I have few forms in which I have few dropdown items. Now, in stead of that, I want to have menu items, like the way you see righ now on the top of your screen.. Like File, Edit, View, etc... (IE users). Now when you click on any of these, it gives you a list of options and when you click on any of these options, would execute the same. Can I have some thing like this, as my dropdown menu is for selecting a report from it.

    Any help on this point , please...

    Thanx

    Sandeep
    This is possible . i will reply in detail in the evening bcoz i m busy right now.
    Pankaj Garg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    280

    Re: Menu items

    Originally posted by pankajgarg
    This is possible . i will reply in detail in the evening bcoz i m busy right now.
    Hmm, I'm curious how it works. I'm interested in learning this as well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    50

    Re: Menu items

    Originally posted by pankajgarg
    This is possible . i will reply in detail in the evening bcoz i m busy right now.
    PLEASE do that. Not only me, many others would be happy! DOn't forget to send it to me today (evenotherwise TGIF)... Looking forward to it (very eagerly)...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    what's the question?

    -adding a custom menu to an individual (non-maximized) access form: impossible i guess.

    -replacing the access standard menu (i.e. the one up on the top of the "application", not the individual form) with your own custom menu (or a deicated custom menu for each form): this is no problem

    also - if the form is maximised, there is essentially no difference between the two.

    izy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    50

    Talking Re: Menu items

    Originally posted by lansing
    Hmm, I'm curious how it works. I'm interested in learning this as well.
    Hmm... Mr.Pankaj... Now it's a chalange... come back soon and give us a solution... STILL WAITING.....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    280
    Originally posted by izyrider
    what's the question?

    -adding a custom menu to an individual (non-maximized) access form: impossible i guess.

    -replacing the access standard menu (i.e. the one up on the top of the "application", not the individual form) with your own custom menu (or a deicated custom menu for each form): this is no problem

    also - if the form is maximised, there is essentially no difference between the two.

    izy
    Well, there should be a property on the form where you can't maximize the form.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    111
    And something like this? (see attach file - is a .jpeg)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ex.jpg  

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    50
    Yes exactly like this!!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    Sandeep, i'm still confused.

    way back on the first post you said:
    I want to have menu items, like the way you see righ now on the top of your screen.. Like File, Edit, View, etc... (IE users). Now when you click on any of these, it gives you a list of options and when you click on any of these options, would execute the same
    which is not at all the same as a bunch of buttons - the buttons are not going to drop-down options.

    like i said before, it's no problem to do this at the top of the access window and it looks fine with maximised forms... it's just looks a little bit strange when the form is floating in the middle of the screen and it's menu is up the top.

    are you trying to do menus or buttons?

    izy

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5

    Just a Thought

    I may be off track here...but I don't think so...I've attached a sample which I think is what you are looking for.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by kybb1; 09-30-03 at 10:05.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •