Unhappy Unanswered: Problems with special german characters

Hello!

I have got a little problem with DB2 Enterprise Edition Version 8.1.0 for Linux when entering special german characters as or , ,
    (I hope they will appear correctly in this message :-)

First, whenn entering a "" within a string there is no problem, but when this character appears at the end befor the quote I get an error message telling a quote is missing. I got a workaround by adding a blank at the end of every string ending with a ""

Second I also get error messages when inserting strings containing umlauts like "", "". "" but teh strange thing is, I could not find any rule when an error appears and when not. I am only sure that it has to do with the umlauts.

It always say something like there is a quote missing

I already tried using an extra quote or a backslash "\" but that did not work.

As I am very new to DB2 I am happy about every hint I get from you.
    Thank you in advance.

Below you will find two different error messages as examples:
    ----------------------
    DB21034E The command was processed as an SQL statement because it was not a
    valid Command Line Processor command. During SQL processing it returned:
    SQL0010N The string constant beginning with "',0,'','')" does not have an
    ending string delimiter. SQLSTATE=42603
    -----------------------
    DB21034E The command was processed as an SQL statement because it was not a
    valid Command Line Processor command. During SQL processing it returned:
    SQL0007N The character "" following "Coburg.de','Viele Gr" is not valid.
    SQLSTATE=42601

Try posting on the comp.databases.ibm-db2 newsgroup. There is an IBM-Germany guy who answers questions there.

Thanx for the hint. I will try ...

Provided Answers: 1

Re: Problems with special german characters

Originally posted by alexander_otto