Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    59

    Unanswered: DB2Move - non-D record error while import

    Hi guys,
    I have done a db2move EXPORT from a solaris db2(v7.2.5) and now i want to import it into a W2K platform running db2 (v7.1.0) it always gives me the error SQL3089N A non-D record was found where a D record was expected.

    Is it becuase of the version difference?

    Any ides..any info is greatly appriciated.

    cheers
    brat.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: DB2Move - non-D record error while import

    Did you ftp the ixf files from Solaris to W2K ?

    Probably, you did a ascii get/put ...

    You will have to use binary mode transfer for ixf files

    HTH

    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by brat4
    Hi guys,
    I have done a db2move EXPORT from a solaris db2(v7.2.5) and now i want to import it into a W2K platform running db2 (v7.1.0) it always gives me the error SQL3089N A non-D record was found where a D record was expected.

    Is it becuase of the version difference?

    Any ides..any info is greatly appriciated.

    cheers
    brat.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    59
    i did a tar.gz of the files and then transferred them over in binary mode.. In fact i did it 2 times just to be sure it was in binary.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    I don't think it is because of version difference ...

    Do you want to try exporting a small table from the source and ftp it and importing into the target ...

    If this does not work on the targert, will it be possible to catalog your target on the source and try the same import ...

    Cheers
    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Just found a comment in a google search, that this problem could be because of code page differences ... The workaround recommended there was to use del format ...

    Cheers
    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    59
    thanks a lot... .. it works with the del format...
    Appreciate the help.


    cheers
    brat.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3
    Hey, could you give me the syntax you used for that db2move using del format?

    Originally posted by brat4
    thanks a lot... .. it works with the del format...
    Appreciate the help.


    cheers
    brat.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    59
    Originally posted by phassett
    Hey, could you give me the syntax you used for that db2move using del format?
    sorry mate, in the end i didnt use the db2move function, i had pre-written scripts to export manually. Sorry cant be of any help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3
    Sathyaram,

    How do you use the del format with db2move? I see ways of using it for the export command but as these cannot be imported to another OS it's worthless to use export.

    Thanks,

    Paul


    Originally posted by sathyaram_s
    Just found a comment in a google search, that this problem could be because of code page differences ... The workaround recommended there was to use del format ...

    Cheers
    Sathyaram

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •