Question Unanswered: Sum of Fields In a form?

I'm relatively new at access, I was wondering if it's possible to sum four fields and have the total in a new field.

My fields are for calculating the man days used, they're done by quarter and I'm needing a running annual total.

Field names are:

MDQ1
    MDQ2
    MDQ3
    MDQ4
    MDTOTAL

Re: Sum of Fields In a form?

Originally posted by RickyB77
    I'm relatively new at access, I was wondering if it's possible to sum four fields and have the total in a new field.

My fields are for calculating the man days used, they're done by quarter and I'm needing a running annual total.

Field names are:

MDQ1
    MDQ2
    MDQ3
    MDQ4
    MDTOTAL
    MDTOTALum([MDQ1]+[MDQ2]+[MDQ3]+[MDQ4])

Since you are new at Access, this tip may be helpful to you. To ensure that a blank field does not give unexpected results when used in a calculation, use:
    MDTOTALum(Nz([MDQ1])+Nz([MDQ2])+Nz([MDQ3])+Nz([MDQ4]))

In effect this treats a blank numeric field as if its value were zero. You can't do arithmetic with a null value. Without the Nz function, if a field was blank (null), that record's other values would not be included in the sum total.

Jerry

Is the Nz function is part of Visual Basic as well not VBA. I never saw it before..

Re: Sum of Fields In a form?

Originally posted by RickyB77
    Do you intend just to report the result (in a query or on a form) or are you going to try and store the data?

I ask only because you would be best avised to have the information diplayed only when needed by calculating it "at runtime".

If you calculate it on a form then you would be well advised to use the On_lostFocus and On_GotFocus events (see the properties list) of the text box(es) of MDQ1, MDQ2, MDQ3, MDQ4 and have them call the calculator function again. This way any changes are automaticly updated in the totals box.
    Matt the Hat says: "what!?"
    A child of five could understand this! Fetch me a child of five!