Unanswered: init.ora gone loco

I'm a java engineer that basically has a sun utlra sparc 5 setup to run oracle for a local/development db. I set it up and it's been working fine for about a year. A couple of days ago, I decided to add some programs to my Sun machine like, gcc, netscape 7, pine, fetchmail and a few others. I monitored my disk space but something's gone a little crazy.

When I try to start oracle now, the svrmgrl program says:
    ORA-01078: failure in processing system parameters

Now, I know this has something to do with my init.ora file. I have three of these:
    init.ora
    initjgora.ora
    initdw.ora

Now being just a lowly java engineer, my computer knowledge pales in comparison to the mighty oracle dba. Anyone got some options for me as to how I should modify my init file and maybe which one?

Thanks

usually the init.ora file is softlinked to $ORACLE_HOME/dbs
    are your environments are correcly set for your oracle user
    scroll through your init ora files and grep for your control files
    which you have applied for you instance. The file containing these files may be the one to be used for startup ...

Oh, it's jgora then. My control files are in there. I thought that might be the one. I've already made a initjgora.bak file and I started adjusting the different sizes. It's a fairly small db. I get dump files from work but there usually sparcely poulated. I made some adustments like:

db_block_buffers = 8811 #initial
    db_block_buffers = 100 #small
    db_block_buffers = 550 #medium
    db_block_buffers = 3200 #large