Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    53

    Unanswered: Trying to display Max(Fieldname) on a form

    I have a main menu form, which just has text and some buttons. It has no table relationships.

    I also have a table (Change History) which has a field (Version). The table has several rows of data.

    I'm trying to display on my form the highest value from this table's field, so I'm using a texbox with a data value of "=Max([Change History].[Version])". The textbox is set to the right format.

    However it always just shows a blank box.

    What am I missing?
    Thank you,
    James

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    50

    Re: Trying to display Max(Fieldname) on a form

    Do you have your form control source set to Change history?


    Originally posted by jamesmc2
    I have a main menu form, which just has text and some buttons. It has no table relationships.

    I also have a table (Change History) which has a field (Version). The table has several rows of data.

    I'm trying to display on my form the highest value from this table's field, so I'm using a texbox with a data value of "=Max([Change History].[Version])". The textbox is set to the right format.

    However it always just shows a blank box.

    What am I missing?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    53

    Re: Trying to display Max(Fieldname) on a form

    Originally posted by tjacobs
    Do you have your form control source set to Change history?
    I've tried with and without, makes no difference.
    Using A97 if that makes any difference.
    Thank you,
    James

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    50

    Re: Trying to display Max(Fieldname) on a form

    Does your field have nulls? that might make a difference


    Originally posted by jamesmc2
    I've tried with and without, makes no difference.
    Using A97 if that makes any difference.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    53

    Re: Trying to display Max(Fieldname) on a form

    Originally posted by tjacobs
    Does your field have nulls? that might make a difference
    No, no nulls. I can write a query and get the correct answer.
    Thank you,
    James

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    50

    Re: Trying to display Max(Fieldname) on a form

    Does your field have nulls? that might make a difference


    Originally posted by jamesmc2
    I've tried with and without, makes no difference.
    Using A97 if that makes any difference.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    53

    Re: Trying to display Max(Fieldname) on a form

    Originally posted by tjacobs
    Does your field have nulls? that might make a difference
    No, no nulls.
    Thank you,
    James

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •