Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Moving databse from Unix to NT

Hi there,
    I am a complete newbie to Oracle so if my question sounds dumb or the answer is obvious please don't mind.
    I need to move an Oracle 7.32 db from SCO Unix to NT. What I did is:
    export on the Unix machine, which went ok. copied the dump over to NT, where the instance was created with the same SID. edited tnsnames.ora on the nt machine to point to itself. now when I try to import the dump, naturally, I get errors like "could not create directory" as the dump still contains the datafile paths from the unix machine.

The dump cannot be edited, it seems to be CRC'd or whatever.

How can I work around this without leaving the original database on the Unix machine in an unuseable state? I want to drop the database on the Unix box once the version on NT runs, but not before.

ANY input is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.
    Abel.

Hi,

Have you taken a user export or a full database export? A user export exports only the objects (tables,views etc.) owned by the user. You should not have any directory issues.

Export the user you want to migrate from your unix box. Create a user with the same name in your NT and import the dump.

btw, did you install Oracle and created a database in your NT machine?

Sunil.
    Last edited by sunilthomas98; 09-26-03 at 05:09.

Hi,

the best way to do, is to create a database on NT usin the same names for tablespaces, datafiles, redolog files, etc as the database on unix. Then create the datadictionary using the provided scripts, and then export specific users (not users like sys, system, wmsys etc) and import them in to the new NT database.
    It is some work but it is the safest way to avoid errors of any kind. Also, you will be able to manage the objects better.

Hope this helps
    Edwin van Hattem
    OCP DBA / System analyst

Originally posted by sunilthomas98
    Hi,