Question Unanswered: Remove Hyphens with a Paradox 9 Script

I am trying to create a process script in Paradox 9 that will remove hyphens from a field. The field name is P_SSN and the data is social security numbers with hyphens. Before I can export the data to another application, the hyphens must go. Here is my script so far:

proc NoHyphen (strP_SSN string) string var strTemp, strFront,strBack
    string strTemp=strP_SSN while strTemp.match("..-..",strFront,strBack)
    strTemp=strFront+strBack endwhile return strTemp endproc

When I check the syntax, I get an "Error: Identifier Expected" on the first 'strTemp'. What am I doing wrong? Am I even close or waaaaaayyyyyyy off? And yes...I am a newb at the ol' Paradox. Please be gentle Seriously, any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanx.

P.S.
    I have attached a text document with my string statement for editing purposes. Once again, thank you.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by nawtykitty; 09-26-03 at 16:46.

proc NoHyphen (strP_SSN string)
    var strTemp,strFront,strBack string endvar
    strTemp=strP_SSN.value
    while strTemp.match("..-..",strFront,strBack)
    strTemp=strFront+strBack
    endwhile
    return strTemp
    endproc

Your variable declaration was not formed properly and the insertion of the string keyword was incorrect as well.

You can make the procedure (I believe, I did not test it) as edited above however I would use a tcursor and use a scan instead, see below. It would take care of the entire table in one quick pass. The "yourtable.db" is the name of the paradox table and it must be double quoted iside the parentheses.

proc nohyphen()
    var nohyphen tcursor, x,y string endvar
    nohyphen.open('"yourtable.db"')
    nohyphen.edit()
    scan nohyphen for nohyphen.strp_ssn.match("..-..",x,y):
    tcfix.strp_ssn = x + y
    endscan
    tcfix.endedit()

Question