Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: DB2 -> Visio ER Diagram

    I need to create an ER Diagram of a DB2/400 database. I believe it is possible to "reverse engineer" the db in Visio, but I am not sure what is required to do so (ODBC driver?).

    Also, if anyone knows of another way to create an ER Diagram from DB2...I would be greatly appreciative.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    343
    Use ErWin.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    General Deheza, Cba, Arg.
    Posts
    276
    Hi,
    I user the SyBase PowerDisigner.

    Abel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the help, I will check out both of those.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    I just tried it with Visio 2000. You have to create a new diagram: File => New => Database => Database Model Diagram.

    Go to Visio Help and do a search on DB2 for instructions.

    I could not get it to work (although it could see all my catalogued DB2 databases) because when I tried reverse engineering, it was looking for a table called SYSIBM.SQLTABLES. The real table name is SYSIBM.SYSTABLES. I tried to create a view named SYSIBM.SQLTABLES, but DB2 would not allow me to create an object with SYSIBM schema.

    If you have a newer version of Visio, or can find a patch, you might give it try.
    Last edited by Marcus_A; 09-27-03 at 16:31.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Marcus,

    The problem I'm having is that I can change the "Installed Visio Driver" to "IBM DB2 Universal", but the "Data Source" option doesn't give me any DB2 option, and when I try to create a new source, I still don't get any DB2 option (I get everything else from Oracle to MySQL).

    Do I maybe need to install a DB2 ODBC driver, if so, where might I find it.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    You are correct. First install the Administrative client for DB2. You can just download and install the Administration Client v8 FP3. Fixpaks for the Clients includes all the code you need (even if you never installed the GA code before). No license is required for the Clients.
    http://www-3.ibm.com/cgi-bin/db2www/...oad.d2w/report

    Once you install the client (or if already installed), use the DB2 Client Configuration Assistant to install drivers and catalog to the database (remote or local) that you want to access. Once you get the DB2 Client talking to the DB2 database, you should be able to work with Visio.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    I just tried the reverse engineering (creates an ERD) of a DB2 database using Visio Professional 2002, and it seems to work pretty neat. Especially if one doesn't own a copy of Erwin, etc.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks again Marcus, I think that is exactly what I was looking for.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1

    Visio 2003 and DB2

    Hi!

    Found your entries very helpful. But I am having problems getting a connection to our AS400. I am trying Reverse Engineering and I have selected the IBM DB2 Universal Database Driver with a new data source I created. That didn't make any problems, but if I go on I get asked my username and password and when I enter them and continue nothing hapens!

    Greets Conny

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •