help on database modelling

Hi,

I'm fairly new to database modelling.
    I need some pointers on how to model a good database, like what attribute an entity should has, how to parse your data, etc.

FYI,
    I'm developing a large database for a medical application to locate medical entities (hospitals, doctors, etc.) and retrieve their infos.
    there will also be a realtion between doctors and hospitals concerning the practice schedule and location of practice.

any help would be greatly appreciated, even general rule of thumbs (I really am a newbie at this).

Re: help on database modelling

This is not something you can learn by getting a few tips on this forum. Go to a book store (e.g. Amazon) and search for "database design", and find a recommended book suitable for a beginner.

I can't understand why organisations entrust the development of (presumably important) "large databases" to people who have zero experience. No disrespect to you (we all have to start somewhere), but they presumably wouldn't ask you to design a new hospital wing without knowing you to be a qualified architect first, would they?

Originally posted by andrewst
    This is not something you can learn by getting a few tips on this forum. Go to a book store (e.g. Amazon) and search for "database design", and find a recommended book suitable for a beginner.

I can't understand why organisations entrust the development of (presumably important) "large databases" to people who have zero experience. No disrespect to you (we all have to start somewhere), but they presumably wouldn't ask you to design a new hospital wing without knowing you to be a qualified architect first, would they?