Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212

    Unanswered: Dynamic Properties task Config file

    I'm using a INI file with my Dynamic Properties task for the data sources for my connections in the package. Say the package goes from Q/A to production and the servers change. Now assuming the ini file is changed with the correct (new) server names etc. Where do we specify the location of the INI file?

    This is really frustrating. Please help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    220
    Howdy,

    Assuming you have a dynamic package properties task, open steps then DTSStep_DTSDynamic...... and double click on Property Name section called "Description". You can choose the Source to be "INI File" and the location is determined by the "....." button on the right hand side.

    Cheers

    SG

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    Originally posted by sqlguy7777
    Howdy,

    Assuming you have a dynamic package properties task, open steps then DTSStep_DTSDynamic...... and double click on Property Name section called "Description". You can choose the Source to be "INI File" and the location is determined by the "....." button on the right hand side.

    Cheers

    SG
    Yeah i figured that but once i move it to a different server i dont want to go through all the packages and changes the config file location. so i was wondering if it could be done through another way where promoting the package to another server w/o actually designing the packages all over again.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    220
    Howdy

    Well you can read all the config values from a table instaed of an ini file. So, you could just copy a table across into a database and use that as a config "module" that can be moved around.

    Beyond that, I'd suggest its not straight forward.

    Cheers,

    SG

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    I have tired that as well but once you move the DTS package to a different server the connections in the package still point to the original server. Also, for the DT properties in the package, how to specify the source connection to use for Queries in the package?

    Thanks,

    V

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    220
    Howdy

    the problem is that you need to define local logons for the server, so each time you copy the package to a new server, you will need to manually alter the local server logon. No way around this I know of, unless all your servers, userIDs & passwords are the same.

    A DT needs 2 connections : ( asuming you are copying data around on one server ) :

    1 the source connection - server name & source database
    2 the destination conn. - server name & destination database

    To create a DT - click the soucre, then hold the control key & clikc the destination. Then while the two conenctions highlighted, do right click & choose Transform Data Task.


    Cheers

    SG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •