Unanswered: Wierd Characters in Database

I am trying to read text from a file and storing it into the database. I have a text file with a list of of movie titles. One title per line in the text file. I am reading the file using PHP and storing the titles into a mysql text field within the databse. I need to use a text field because movie titles are not the only thing that could be stored in this field. The data reads in fine, and inserts into the database fine, but when I look at the data in the database in a program like Access I see a square at the end of the text. I use access to generate nice looking reports quickly and those squares show up in the reports. Can anyone help me?

If I echo the titles to the screen while inserting I get no sqaures, but I also get multiple movies on one line. The text file is a unix file.

All I want is a new line!

I hope you're comfortable, this is a long answer

Ok ... that said ... 1st off, I'm not a mysql expert, but I assume it properly stores/retrieves newline characters. The problem you're having (I think(I hope!!)) is that unix systems and windows systems store their special characters for "make a new line of text" differently. The reason why goes way way back, but I won't bore you with all of that ....

Basically, when you want a new line of text in a unix text file, you want what's known as the linefeed character. Now, you can't -display- a linefeed character (what does it look like?), so every programming language has a special series of characters that represent things like tabs and new lines. Linefeed characters are represented in PHP and C as "\n". So to make 2 lines of text you'd echo "line1 \n line2";

However on windows, it takes _two_ characters. It takes not only the linefeed character ("\n") but also a carriage-return character, represented as "\r". Not only that, but they have to be in the right order! -- it has to be "\r\n". (known as the CarriageReturn-Linefeed sequence)