Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Unanswered: Retrieving records??

I have a form which stores records.. Now I need to create another form which pulls specific data in..

ie. say I need to pull in all records that were dated between.. 7/01/03 thru 7/30/03 AND where inspected by supervisor 1. Something of that nature..

I'm new to access.. so please bare with me..

thanks

if i seem a bit patronising here i apologise but i don't know how much you know
    note: anything enclosed by me in triangular brackets ie <> need to be replaced by the specific data thats relates to you database

the normal method of doing that is with a query.
    The first thing Id advise is to stay well clear of the query wizards, as they're truly awful.

now once you into the query you have two option uses the query builder which is fairly easy to use but a bit inflexible or to use SQL by selecting the SQL option in the drop down button in the top corner.

even if you decide not to use SQL to build queries it's worth knowing about as most people on this forum use SQL to transfer queries around

the structure for the query you've given would be
    Code:
    SELECT *
    FROM [<the name of your table>]
    WHERE ([<the name of the date field>] Between #7/01/2003# And #7/30/2003#) And [<name of field with the inspecting supervisor in it>] = "Supervisor 1";
    Last edited by m.timoney; 10-01-03 at 10:52.
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

thanks for the quick response...

Ok Heres what I have done.. I created a form where the user can enter in the dates of the records the want to see..

also, the leader..etc..

I created a query.. in design view.. added my tables that had the data I wanted to pull out of..

how would i set the criteria to pull specific data in ?

the date fields.. are seperate.. one for open date and the other close date..

thanks for the help

sorry bout that..