Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    78

    Angry Unanswered: failed to restore db2 database from windows to AIX

    Hello,

    I made a backup db2 database on windows, and could be restored to create new database or replacing existing one on other windows machine. But it failed to restore on AIX, which has the same version 8.1 DB2/UDB. The only error message is cannot find the backup image with certain timestamp. Obviously, it is not, because I run the same command on windows and succeed. I wonder if DB2 allow restore database on heterogenous OS.

    I'd appreciate your ideas,
    christine

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    You can only restore a backup within each of the following groups:

    1. AIX, HP/UX, Solaris

    2. Linux (Intel)

    3. Windows

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    General Deheza, Cba, Arg.
    Posts
    276
    Hi,
    Sorry, but, the backup are INCOMPATIBLE between OS.

    Only can make your DDL a recreate the object in the DB source, and import/export.

    Abel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    78

    Unhappy

    thank you for your replys, and suggestions. But is there any confirm proof from IBM, that I can show to my boss? oh, that is so painful to recreate the whole database rather than just run restore command.

    thanks,
    christine

    Originally posted by achiola
    Hi,
    Sorry, but, the backup are INCOMPATIBLE between OS.

    Only can make your DDL a recreate the object in the DB source, and import/export.

    Abel.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    You mean your boss does not believe me? Send me a message through this forum and I will straighten him/her out.

    I assume you know about the db2look command to re-create the DDL.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    General Deheza, Cba, Arg.
    Posts
    276
    This information say me "IBM Support" by TE, I look up 3 month ago in the IBM site, but not find nothind.

    As experience can count you that it is sufficient laborious.

    first, generate the DDL (see the command db2look)
    Second, export the data (whitn the command export o other), table by table.

    and, import the data in the source.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    78
    thank you, I guess I will do that as you suggest. and I've got more objects to take care.

    Originally posted by achiola
    This information say me "IBM Support" by TE, I look up 3 month ago in the IBM site, but not find nothind.

    As experience can count you that it is sufficient laborious.

    first, generate the DDL (see the command db2look)
    Second, export the data (whitn the command export o other), table by table.

    and, import the data in the source.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    134
    check the following links:

    http://www-3.ibm.com/cgi-bin/db2www/...d2w&fn=1003969

    http://www-3.ibm.com/cgi-bin/db2www/...n=r0001976.htm

    Snippet from the doc for restore command (v8):

    To make a copy of a database created on a different workstation |platform, use the db2move utility. A different platform means either a |different operating system, or word size (that is, 32-bit or 64-bit), or |both. You can restore databases created in 32-bit Windows to a 64-bit |Windows platform, or the reverse. Database backups created on AIX, HP, |and Sun operating systems, each in either 32-bit or 64-bit, may be restored on |AIX, HP, and Sun operating systems, each in either 32-bit or 64-bit. |You can restore databases created in 32-bit Linux to a 64-bit Linux platform, |or the reverse.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    78
    Thanks a lot. DB2LOOK does catch all DDL including trigger and functions, but when trigger and function cannot be build by just running the script. Is there any other handy tool to import them?



    Originally posted by chuzhoi
    check the following links:

    http://www-3.ibm.com/cgi-bin/db2www/...d2w&fn=1003969

    http://www-3.ibm.com/cgi-bin/db2www/...n=r0001976.htm

    Snippet from the doc for restore command (v8):

    To make a copy of a database created on a different workstation |platform, use the db2move utility. A different platform means either a |different operating system, or word size (that is, 32-bit or 64-bit), or |both. You can restore databases created in 32-bit Windows to a 64-bit |Windows platform, or the reverse. Database backups created on AIX, HP, |and Sun operating systems, each in either 32-bit or 64-bit, may be restored on |AIX, HP, and Sun operating systems, each in either 32-bit or 64-bit. |You can restore databases created in 32-bit Linux to a 64-bit Linux platform, |or the reverse.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    35
    Check the tool: db2move

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    78
    db2move only work for tables and load data, not triggers and user defined functions.

    Originally posted by dlafreni
    Check the tool: db2move

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •