Cool Unanswered: Oracle 81 temporary database size problem

Hello all
    I hope you guys can help me. I'm kinda confused. I'm NOT into databases much, but I found myself stuck headdown in a crisis situation.
    There are some sites with Oracle 81 db running weblogic on windows 2k platform. A few days back, the application showed signs of abnormalities. Upon initila investigation, I noticed a 55 GB temp01.dbp file in the database folder. Its usual size is around 450 - 550 Mbs.
    Can anyone help me look into this? I'd like to know WHY and HOW such a huge size file is created in oracle.
    I'm a newbie, so plz be gentle
    Regards
    Saj

issue "alter tablespace temp default storage pctincrease 0);" which will free all unused extends (a workaround ...)
    then

"alter database datafile 'filespec of temp device' resize 550MB " or the size you want

you need the right permissions/grants to do that ...

Re: Oracle 81 temporary database size problem

Originally posted by sajeel
    Hello all
    I hope you guys can help me. I'm kinda confused. I'm NOT into databases much, but I found myself stuck headdown in a crisis situation.
    There are some sites with Oracle 81 db running weblogic on windows 2k platform. A few days back, the application showed signs of abnormalities. Upon initila investigation, I noticed a 55 GB temp01.dbp file in the database folder. Its usual size is around 450 - 550 Mbs.
    Can anyone help me look into this? I'd like to know WHY and HOW such a huge size file is created in oracle.
    I'm a newbie, so plz be gentle
    Regards
    Saj
    Temp tablespace(s) is(are) used for
    - when there's a big sort that doesn't fit in memory (ORDER BY, GROUP BY ..)
    - when you create/rebuild an index (that requires sorting of course)
    - for GLOBAL TEMPORARY tables
    - many other things

You have probably a temp file which is in autextend mode, with no maxsize specified.

What are the "abnormalities" ?

thanks a lot for all the help