Question Unanswered: DB2 UDB Prod questions??

Hello friends

I am new to DB2 UDB DBA production world.
    And I am Certified DBA for DB2 UDB V8.1 (work knowlege with test databases).

Looking for and improve my career growth to be as PRODUCTION DBA.

Desingn phase????
    What type of tablespace do the DBA prefer to go with (SMS or DMS)?
    What is backup strategy? and When will the DBA take full db backup?
    What is the performance parameters he has to take care maximum?
    Is there any command or utility to defragment tablespace (other than reorg)?

Thanks
    Raj

What type of tablespace do the DBA prefer to go with (SMS or DMS)?

DMS usually yields better performance, especially for large tables. Using DMS to stripe containers across multiple physical drives is important for tables that are prefetched, and it enables query parallelism (even without multiple partitions). In order to place the index in a different tablespace than the table (also good for performance), DMS is required. However if you have lots of buffer pool space for an object and it will not get flushed out of the buffer pool, there is not any physical I/O going on after the first read.

What is backup strategy? and When will the DBA take full db backup?

This depends on the application window requirements, and also the level of update activity (insert/update/delete). Whenever possible, a full off-line backup is preferred, but sometimes only an on-line or incremental can be done in the small maintenance window available. The longer you go in-between full backups, the longer recovery takes (more logs need to processed in roll-forward recovery). At the moment, on-line backups have some quirks that make it a little dangerous for disaster recovery (especially if you ever loose your log files). IBM is working on improving on-line backups.

What is the performance parameters he has to take care maximum?