Unanswered: Setting up listner in Oracle 9i

How do i setup the listner.ora file and create accounts to access the db? I'm new to Oracle, so please forgive me for asking how to do this, but i've searched everywhere and couldnt not find an answer that applies to my question. I'm taking a class on sql and all i want to do is some basic data manipulation. I've tried messing around w/ "Oracle Enterprise Manager," but i have no idea what i'm doing. Please Help. Thank you.

Re: Setting up listner in Oracle 9i

if you just want to run a default listener, run the command lsnrctl start
    you do not need any configuration for the 'default listener'
    for any customisation you have to edit the file $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin/listener.ora
    But please note: the listener doesn't care of any account on the DtabaBase! you have to create users/schemata on the database!
    ^/\x

Thx for reply. I've tried that before and this is the error i get:

Starting tnslsnr: please wait...

Failed to start service, error 3.
    TNS-12536: TNS: operation would block
    TNS-12560: TNS: protocol adapter error
    TNS-00506: Operation would block
    32-bit Windows Error: 997: Unknown error

I know the service has been created because i see it in my services control panel. It has been set to automatically start at startup, but this is the error whenever i try to access the db through Oracle Enterprise Manager(OEM).

"ORA-12541: TNS:no listener"

When i manually start the service i get:

"Could not start the ORacleOracleHomeTNSListener service on Local Computer. Eror3: The System cannot find the path specified."

I was able to connect to the db through dos by performing the following commands:

c:\> set oracle_sid=
    c:\> sqlplus /nolog
    SQL> connect scott/tiger

That allowed me to create/modify tables, but i would like to have it setup so that i could use OEM to perform those tasks. Please let me know what i must do to fix my problem. Thank you for your help