Unanswered: How to modify SQL Server 2000 column datatypes?

Hello,

I'm new to using SQL Server 2000. I recently created a table with about 12 columns by importing an already existing spreadsheet. When I look at the table in SQL Server Enterprise Manager, the grid of data is rather wide and I have to scroll to the right to see all columns. Even though I drag each of the column boudaries to the left to try to 'shrink' the view sizes, once I exit Enterprise Manager the changes are not applied/saved.

I would like to see all columns in one screen. Can someone advise if I can do it?

Also, many of the columns have sizes e.g., 8 or 10, that are larger than I need. Is there a simple way to modify column datatypes in a GUI view? Somehow, Design View does not let me make changes to the datatype sizes.

Thank you in advance.

Provided Answers: 1
    Design view will allow you to make changes providing you have sufficient permission to do so, and that they do not violate data and relationship integrity issues. You cannot make changes from the "Open table" view.

Enterprise manager is a tool, not an application. Formatting functionality such as setting (and retaining) a column's display width is not included in Enterprise Manager. You need to use a 3rd party reporting tool or build your own application for reporting.

You can also execute your query through Query Analyzer and specifically cast the resulting columns to your desired widths, and you can view results in either text or spreadsheet (grid) format. Query Analyzer is preferred for view data over Enterprise Manager, because you can inadvertently change data while viewing it in Enterprise Manager.

blindman
    Last edited by blindman; 10-13-03 at 14:39.

blindman,

Thank you for your ideas and suggestions. I will take them into account as I work with my table (and other future tables also).

Are you really an Aussie? I lived in Melbourne for two years when I was a kid (1975-76).

Absolutely!