Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy Unanswered: ERROR: 106556: non-ORACLE exception

    I have an application that execute some query on Oracle database to generate some Excel's reports.
    My application is done with Developer 2000.
    Now my problem is that after an indefinited time (1 or 2 mounths) the application generate these reports without record by the Oracle and appears the ERROR:

    ERROR: 106556: non-ORACLE exception

    I don't know what can I check to resolve this serius problem.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    hi,

    i think it is what is says: a non-oracle exception.
    Maybe u r trying to access a Xcel file that is currently being used ?

    Hope this helps
    Edwin van Hattem
    OCP DBA / System analyst

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy ERROR: 106556: non-ORACLE exception

    unfortunately no! I' m sorry but this happens suddenly and after for ever. The only solution is to uninstalla Office2000 and reinstall it.
    I don't know, may be is some file ddl that is not more clear after some operations.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    hi,

    i expect u recieve the error in forms?
    Do u use OLE containers for the call to office?
    Have u tried to partially uninstall Office to find out where exactly this happens? Is any file locked? Does it happen on the server or on a clinet? Did u reboot the machine after the error occurs? Did u try to delete or rename the file which is being or tried to being accessed when the error occurs ?

    Hope this helps.
    Edwin van Hattem
    OCP DBA / System analyst

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    6
    hi,

    i expect u recieve the error in forms?
    YES! THE ERROR IS ON THE BAR UNDER THE FORM.

    Do u use OLE containers for the call to office?
    i DON'T THINK, WE HAVE A PREPARED FILE.XLS THAT OPEN EXCEL.

    Have u tried to partially uninstall Office to find out where exactly this happens?
    NO, BUT IF I REINSTALL OFFICE WITHOUT UNINSTALL IT, DOESN'T WORK!

    Is any file locked?
    HOW CAN I CHECK IF ANY FILE IS LOCKED?

    Does it happen on the server or on a clinet?
    MY FORM IS ON CLIENT BUT THE DB ORACLE IS ON SERVER.

    Did u reboot the machine after the error occurs?
    YES I TRIED BUT DOESN'T CHANGE!

    Did u try to delete or rename the file which is being or tried to being accessed when the error occurs ?
    NO I DIDN'T TRY.

    Hope this helps

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    hi,

    try to remove the file.xls when the problem occurs. If that gives a problem, some process may be accessing it. This might be a dead connection and it happens with Microsoft as well as with oracle.
    I expect u use the file.xls to be a template and save the changed file to another filename ?
    Edwin van Hattem
    OCP DBA / System analyst

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    6
    Yes, I use these .xls like template but if I remove them and reput doesn't append anything!
    What can I do?
    Remember that the .xls file producted has only the title on each column but there aren't record (like the select doesn't work well!).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    hi,

    just how are u writing to the xls file ?
    Edwin van Hattem
    OCP DBA / System analyst

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    6
    I don't some template and I image that the select is written in form code (developer 2000). I don't think that my template has some problem because I resolve reinstalling office without change some thing in my code.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    hi,

    look's like your forms application is using the DDe package. Searchin metalink i found a note saying (in short) that u have to trap the error and write the message to a table were u can check out the real problem. Just having the error cod returned is not enough unfortunately.
    Please confirm the use of the dde package.

    greetz
    Edwin van Hattem
    OCP DBA / System analyst

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    6
    Sorry, I'm not understand very well your message.
    Can you be more clear.
    Thanks

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    hi,

    could it be possible that the forms use a databse package called DDE?
    I found a note on metalink saying that this package might cause give an error, but does not give the real message back to the form. So u have to do exception handling in the form to get the real error message. And that message should give a hint about the problem.

    Greetz
    Edwin van Hattem
    OCP DBA / System analyst

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •