Thread: New To Sql

Unanswered: New To Sql

I am new to sql and have a project that requires me to join multiple tables. Currently I am trying to join two tables that both have names and addresses of people. One table is of adults and the other is of children with supervising adults. I have been able to create a join of both of them, but, for instance, when an adult is listed as the supervising adult for a child, the adult list is almost doubled in size making the table an untrue reflection of what I am trying to achieve. Can anyone help me with this problem?

thanks

stu

Need more information on fields and what you are trying to join to. If you want a single list on names than you may want to list All children, All Adults and, All supervising Adults not in the adult list.

Need more information on fields and what you are trying to join to. If you want a single list on names than you may want to list All children, All Adults and, All supervising Adults not in the adult list.

Or you may only want all adults and All children.

What you want will determine your query/join

Re: New To Sql

Originally posted by stuman413
    I am new to sql and have a project that requires me to join multiple tables. Currently I am trying to join two tables that both have names and addresses of people. One table is of adults and the other is of children with supervising adults. I have been able to create a join of both of them, but, for instance, when an adult is listed as the supervising adult for a child, the adult list is almost doubled in size making the table an untrue reflection of what I am trying to achieve. Can anyone help me with this problem?