Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: cpu usage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2

    Unanswered: cpu usage

    Hello,

    We're having problems with some querries on db2/udb windows 2000 version 7.2.4. One query is consuming all the cpu of the server, is there a possibility to use a parameter to automatic force these queries when they take all resource of the server ? Can i set a parameter of max. cpu-usage ?

    Thanks,
    Johan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Johan,
    No, not to my knowledge. Large queries do this. You need to examine the query and check why it is consuming so much resources.
    Run EXPLAIN or generate an access plan in the Control Center to see what it is doing. Anything like creating indexes can improve this.

    HTH

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    230
    Originally posted by ARWinner
    Johan,
    No, not to my knowledge. Large queries do this. You need to examine the query and check why it is consuming so much resources.
    Run EXPLAIN or generate an access plan in the Control Center to see what it is doing. Anything like creating indexes can improve this.

    HTH

    Andy
    As far as I know with DB2GOV utility you can force application that consume cpu more than you expectation.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322

    Re: cpu usage

    Hey,

    Why not get the root of the problem and post that bad boy...

    Also...it's been a while, doing a lot of sql server...but does this board deal with any OS/390 stuff?

    Spocs up there are a bugger...

    Or is there a separate OS/390 DB2 board?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5

    Re: cpu usage

    Yes, we do OS/390. Just be sure to mention that fact each time you post a question.

    Andy

    Originally posted by Brett Kaiser
    Hey,

    Why not get the root of the problem and post that bad boy...

    Also...it's been a while, doing a lot of sql server...but does this board deal with any OS/390 stuff?

    Spocs up there are a bugger...

    Or is there a separate OS/390 DB2 board?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Check out "Chapter 9. Using the governor" in the Administration Guide: Performance.

    This is the version manual, not sure about version 7.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •