Unanswered: problem with tie function

I am new to Perl programming. I have a statement like this
    tie %reservation, "DB_File", "reservations" or die "live live live... $!\n";

When i run the cgi script i am not getting expected output. I looked into the apache's error log file. It shows "live live live" for the latest access. What is the problem here? Please help me.

Thanks in advance,
    Navanee

answer

i give u example code try that style.use the syntax correctly.

unlink "example";
    tie %h,"DB_File","example",O_RDWR|O_CREAT, 0640, $DB_HASH ||print ("not able to open");

here example is the file(table) i open.first i erase existing data(optional).then i open it for read and write ,if it exists.otherwise, the table is created.u can also add no overwrite etc..i use the hash method.

try this syntax.if any problem, plz inform me the error message.regards

Code:
    tie %h,"DB_File","example",O_RDWR|O_CREAT, 0640, $DB_HASH ||print ("not able to open");
    This is a common mistake. This function will never give you a meaningful error message for two reasons.
    1) You do not include $! in your error message. I understand that its just creation so this doesn't matter much. See point two.
    2) Precedence rules make the || apply to the $DB_HASH, not the statement as a whole. Thus if the value of $DB_HASH is false, then it will die. If its not, it will never die even if the tie call fails. Instead you must use the "or" operator (it has lower precedence than ||) or you must use ( ) around the parameters in the function call.

Code:
    tie %h,"DB_File","example",O_RDWR|O_CREAT, 0640, $DB_HASH or print ("not able to open: '$!'");