Unanswered: Order of Rows Imported Into SQL Server 2000 From Excel Not Correct

Hello,

I am new to SQL Server 2000 and I am trying out the 'Import' feature. I successfully imported an Excel spreadsheet of 8144 rows into a pre-defined (empty) SQL Server 2000 table but for some reason the order is not entirely right. In the original spreadsheet the order is by Stock Ticker in column A and then by Date in column B, however, when I check the table in SS2000 it is not sequenced correctly.

Can someone explain what happened?

Thanks in advance.

Hi

Data is not stored "in order" (one of the rules of relational databases)...to see it ordered as you did in excel
    specify the columns it must order by

Des

Originally posted by DesmondX
    Hi

Data is not stored "in order" (one of the rules of relational databases)...to see it ordered as you did in excel
    specify the columns it must order by

Des
    Unless there is clustered index for table...

Originally posted by snail
    Unless there is clustered index for table...
    And that's just for the initial load....subsequent inserts may be thrown around to what ever available free pages there are...

Thanks to all who replied!

I guess I was kind of thinking ahead, since my ultimate intention is to use the table in a sorted order and 'step thru' the rows one-by-one in sequential order. This is essential for the task I wish to accomplish. The only thing I can think of to get this done would be to build cursors, but a book I am reading on SQL Server 2000 strongly suggests not using cursors unless absolutely necessary.

Can anyone enlighten me on how I can possibly 'step thru' a sequentially ordered set without using cursors?

Many thanks to all in advance!

Joe

Originally posted by aussie
    Thanks to all who replied!