Unanswered: Triggers - where will they bite me?

SQL Server 2K

I'm a DBA-less VB programmer and I'd like to send an email when I stuff data of a certain criteria in my error table. I'd prefer not to have the front end do this as my users don't need to wait for it or participate in the experience.

In the end this seemed like something that a Trigger could do but I'd like to not start a giant mis-adventure if I can avoid it.

How scary would it be to have an Insert trigger that, based on a value in the inserted record, would call, say, a DTS package that would email my IT/IS person and tell them that a drive is full?

Will it behave if I set NOT FOR REPLICATION? We replicate this database frequently.

Thanks for any insight!

Re: Triggers - where will they bite me?

Your a DBAless developer, and you've got replication set up? Who did it?

Triggers by the way are event driven things.

The act when an INSERT, DELETE or UPDATE Action occurs against a table.

They also have the special ability to "see" the before and after images of the data in tables "virtual" table called inserted and deleted. They only live for the length of the transaction.

You need to know the frequency of the activity, to understand how often it will fire.

You also have to ability to set up scheduled jobs.

Also, it sounds like you don't write stored procedures.

It is a better alternative than putting all the code in VB. Less Network traffic, codes compiled...lots of reasons.

What do you mean about the "Drive is full part" though?
    Brett
    8-)

It's a Great Day for America everybody!

dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

Re: Triggers - where will they bite me?