Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Active X Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212

    Unanswered: Active X Error

    I get this error msg when I run my ActiveX script in a DTS package.

    Err number: 429
    Err Message: ActiveX component can't create object

    When I Set crApplication = CreateObject("CrystalRuntime.Application.9")

    if Err.Number <>0 then
    'I get the message here

    ne one know what this is about? I'm running this package on SQL server 2000 with Admistrative access

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    522
    do you have crystal object library installed on the box?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    63

    Re: Active X Error

    Hi there,

    I assume you have installed Crystal on your box! So, I can imagine two reasons:

    1. No file type is associated with this application (had this kind of problem recently with Cognos Impromptu!) and the system doesn't "know" CrystalRuntime.Application.9.

    2. Is CreateObject("CrystalRuntime.Application.9") the correct syntax? Is the ".9" correct there?

    Greetings,
    Carsten

    Originally posted by vmlal
    I get this error msg when I run my ActiveX script in a DTS package.

    Err number: 429
    Err Message: ActiveX component can't create object

    When I Set crApplication = CreateObject("CrystalRuntime.Application.9")

    if Err.Number <>0 then
    'I get the message here

    ne one know what this is about? I'm running this package on SQL server 2000 with Admistrative access

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    522
    hm, i don't think file association is required if the object library is properly registerd with all dependent components (i've seen dll's that cannot be registered without ocx's being registered first, etc.)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    Originally posted by ms_sql_dba
    hm, i don't think file association is required if the object library is properly registerd with all dependent components (i've seen dll's that cannot be registered without ocx's being registered first, etc.)
    If thats not the case where could i start resovling this issue? Any starting points? thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    522
    you need to make sure that you know exactly what components have been loaded on the server and that you have the required dll (-s) present. if the installation was done through windows installer you will see some footprint of it in controll panel/add/remove programs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •