Question Unanswered: Beginner needs help! Master child prob!

Hi, i am new to access and have a problem linking the master/child fields.

My main form consists of a tab strip that has 8 tabs with a subform on each. On each form i have a common field S_REF (student Reference) that is common to all but can't seem to display the data from the tables. If i pull up a form on its own (not via the main form) it does display the data! how do i link them master/childs fields to get the subforms on the main form to display the data?? any suggestions would be appreciated!
    Last edited by Coopstar; 10-21-03 at 07:30.

In the properties of the subform, did you put s_Ref into both the Link Child Fields and the Link Master Fields properties? They are second and third from the top of the All tab

Question

yip, i have done that already but it doesn't work. Is this because each subform has a different table for itself? as there are multiple tables, which should i put as the record source on the main form?? Of the 8 tables, one has data that already exists! i have only had about 2weeks tuition on access, maybe i am in way over my head?
    Take 'er handy!

Lightbulb Master/child forms

I don't know if this helps, but have you got a field on each of the tables that links to the main table with the s_ref field?

i do! each table has the S_REF and are linked together by this field in my relationships. However most of my relationships are one to one as the project is for a Student Services Fund and each student can only apply once. Would this affect it?
    Take 'er handy!

Thumbs up

I have it sorted!!!!!
    Take 'er handy!

Wink

Excellent!

I was checking whether you needed to have one-to-many's for the tabs to work - how did you solve it?

I kinda took the easy way out and changed my forms so that i didnt have to use the master/child fields! At the moment it works ok, but i still have alot to do! It could still end in tears. LOL
    Take 'er handy!

Talking

Best of Luck!