Unanswered: migrating from oracle 8.1.6 to 9.2 as backup/recovery?

I am a beginner Oracle DBA, sorry if the question is stupid. If I want to migrate a DB from 8.1.6 to 9.2 can I use a backup/recovery process? Why can't I do a hot backup of the old database and then recover it in the new database? It would be so much faster then export/import?

Thank you.

You can't do that because they have different headers on the files. At least I don't think you can do that. Oracle is designed in such a way that user or DBA does not have to touch the data files at all.

I am not sure if this is how you would do it but the only way I can think of is to export/import the data. Backup recovery is a whole different process.

I thought there is a tool to help you move from 8.x to 9.x. Also, if you are going to switch make sure your database is compatable with 9.x

Thanks, Seraph.

There is a good chance that I am wrong as well. I have done some work on 8i and I am taking classes for 9i certification so there is a good chance that I am wrong here. I just design databases so I am just learning as well but from the concepts, it seems like you can't migrate from 8x to 9x by just doing a backup/recovery. Make sure you backup your 8x before you do that move though.

I think if it was possible i would find something about this option in the Oracle Books Online or somewhere else. My main concern is that export/import will take very long time, and if it fails, i'll have to repeat it.
    And there is no direct upgrade from 8.1.6 to 9.2.

I found, however, the following: