Question Unanswered: How Do I Export ALL Data from a Progress Database?

I am have been put in charge of extracting data from a Progress Database. I have never used Progress or heard of it until now. I am an amateur at SQL Server and Access databases.

I need to know how to export ALL of the data from the Progress database. It runs on Windows 2000 within a DOS window. I check the version and I am running "PROGRESS PATCH Version 9.1c11 as of November 8th, 2001"

Any examples or references how to accomplish this would be very appreciated!

Thanks!

Re: How Do I Export ALL Data from a Progress Database?

Perhaps I can help you, but I need more information.
    There are many forms to do this; you can use a jdbc driver to read the progress database and export the data to your destiny, or export the data in a text (comma separeted) format.
    Or you can export the data from Progress instead.
    What kind of your database target?
    How big is your Progress database?
    Do you have the Progress administration (I think so...)?

Export from Progress

I was wondering if you had any success with your export from Progress. I have a similar task facing me, except mine is a little more complicated. The Progress database I must export resides on a SCO Unix machine. I'm not real good with Unix, but if I can just get the database to export all tables to a CSV file, I should be OK.

Any suggestions?

Stu

Reply to rivens@pjm.com

Hi

In both cases here, you haven't stated where you want to export your Data to. Will it be to another database or are you looking at using a text file.

In the case where you mention SQLServer or Access, if this will be the destination, you simply need an ODBC driver to connect you to the database and both these applications provide mechanisms to retrieve data. In the second instance, is CSV really what you to use or would you like to store this somewhere else.

Regards
    Emmon Simbo
    http://www.openlinksw.com

TEXT FILE Export