Unanswered: mySQl performance

Hi,
    Since, I am new to Database world, I would like you all to forgive my ignornace and pls pour in your sguuestions and help. thanks in advance!

Objective: To set up a machine ( desktop ) to run a Database ( like SQL Server / Oracle / mySQL ...etctec ) which can log incoming data, that grows to the size of 10MB of Textual Data Files ( each file is about 2Kb) at the end of a single day.
    Number of Fields in the Table = 15 (Max).

The Machine that I have: Deaktop PC running,
    Win 2k / XP
    Processor: 1Ghz Pentium
    Ram: 1GB;
    Hdisk: 40GB

Is this enough ? We are planning on buying a RAID disk to back up data. How is that going to affect the choice of Database we are going to use ? Do we really need a RAID ? or a fast SCSI disk ?

Thanks,

Provided Answers: 1

Re: mySQl performance

Originally posted by deepakram
    Hi,
    Since, I am new to Database world, I would like you all to forgive my ignornace and pls pour in your sguuestions and help. thanks in advance!

Objective: To set up a machine ( desktop ) to run a Database ( like SQL Server / Oracle / mySQL ...etctec ) which can log incoming data, that grows to the size of 10MB of Textual Data Files ( each file is about 2Kb) at the end of a single day.
    Number of Fields in the Table = 15 (Max).

The Machine that I have: Deaktop PC running,
    Win 2k / XP
    Processor: 1Ghz Pentium
    Ram: 1GB;
    Hdisk: 40GB

Is this enough ? We are planning on buying a RAID disk to back up data. How is that going to affect the choice of Database we are going to use ? Do we really need a RAID ? or a fast SCSI disk ?

Thanks,
    If enough for MySQL but Oracle takes HUGE amounts of resources... DB2 and SQL Server are ressource hungry too but not as bad as Oracle... MySQL would fly with 1Gb RAM.