Thread: Design Doubt

Talking Design Doubt

Dear Sirs,

I have a design question, I would like your help. This is my first time in a forum, please forgive me.

What its better?

A table with 180 fields or three tables with some kind of relationship?

I have a system in Access 97, Im planning to move to Interbase 7 to adapt to company standards. Now the project will be the standard for the company and once it will have many, many records, Ill would like your advise on it.

Thanks a lot.

Best Regards,

Delcio Torres

three tables is better
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

I tend to agree with r937 only because it is highly doubtful a table with 180 columns is normalized. However, without more info about the nature of the data and the business rules, its impossible to say.
    Oracle - DB2 - MS Access -

more tables are easier to be administrated.
    BUT sometimes business logic and frequency of using makes one table data faster ... sometimes.

Even if you have the computer resources (memory, etc.) to handle a 180 field table, it seems too big to be practical -- too big for a person to keep track of. There is no hard and fast rule, but probably 20 - 40 fields are about as wide as someone can pracically deal with along.

I would suggest breaking it down to as many tables as possible. Chances are it can be broken down to at least 10 or even 20 tables.

The following link may be helpful. There is a good example and if you can follow along with the example of a dog-trainer teaching different tricks to different puppies it may give you ideas for how to break down your tables:

http://www.gslis.utexas.edu/~l384k11w/normover.html

Design Doubt II

Thank you all for your answers!

What Im doing is a time track system to be crossed with the entrance access. Like this:

EMPLOYEE->CONTROL

CONTROL
    PKControl
    FKEmployee
    DateIn
    DateOut
    HourIn
    HourOut
    HourType