Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

" Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for th

Has anyone had encounter with the following message with WinXP?

" Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

I am a novice computer user. New PC; 6 months; installed all WinXP updates. . . Anytime I click on a desktop icon that was packaged with the WinXP Operating System, I get the captioned error. That is, I cannot open either My Computer, Internet Explorer, Recycle Bin, etc.; but Microsoft Office XP works and all the games work.

Looking for a helpful response to this error. I have surf the web with no help. Someone suggested going into a "forum". So, I am a novice with this too.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Re: " Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for th

Has happened on my XP a few times ..

Don't know the reason( not strange ... M$'s error messages and logs hardly help), but restarting the machine has solved the problem(thank heavens for that)

Sorry if I have not been of much help

Sathyaram

Originally posted by aen
    Has anyone had encounter with the following message with WinXP?

" Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

I am a novice computer user. New PC; 6 months; installed all WinXP updates. . . Anytime I click on a desktop icon that was packaged with the WinXP Operating System, I get the captioned error. That is, I cannot open either My Computer, Internet Explorer, Recycle Bin, etc.; but Microsoft Office XP works and all the games work.

Looking for a helpful response to this error. I have surf the web with no help. Someone suggested going into a "forum". So, I am a novice with this too.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.