Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256

    Unanswered: restore 7.1 backup in 8.1 instance

    Fpr testing purposes, what would be the best way to restore a 7.1 database backup in a new 8.1 DB2 instance.
    Create database from backup does not offer to select the backup-file to create a new databasde from?
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Not sure I completely understand the problem. I think you can use RESTORE DATABASE with the FROM and INTO options.

    Here is a description of the INTO clause:

    INTO target-database-alias
    The target database alias. If the target database does not exist, it is created.

    When you restore a database backup to an existing database, the restored database inherits the alias and database name of the existing database. When you restore a database backup to a nonexistent database, the new database is created with the alias and database name that you specify. This new database name must be unique on the system where you restore it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256
    Originally posted by Marcus_A
    Not sure I completely understand the problem. I think you can use RESTORE DATABASE with the FROM and INTO options.

    Here is a description of the INTO clause:

    INTO target-database-alias
    The target database alias. If the target database does not exist, it is created.

    When you restore a database backup to an existing database, the restored database inherits the alias and database name of the existing database. When you restore a database backup to a nonexistent database, the new database is created with the alias and database name that you specify. This new database name must be unique on the system where you restore it.
    Marcus,

    Just for test purposes I have taken an offline backup from one of my databases (UDB 7.1) and installed version 8.1 on a testserver. Can the 7.1 backup file be used to create a new database on the 8.1 instance?

    So , the issue is compatibility. Can 7.1 backup be used for restoring in 8.1 instance? (or do I first have to upgrade to latest 7 fixpack, i.e version 7.2?)

    Using control center on 8.1 does not allow me to select a backup image like it did allow with control center 7.1......
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    A version 7 backup can be restored to version 8 instance. DB2 will automatically do the database conversion. I do not know if there is a restriction that it must be 7.2 rather than 7.1. Any version 7 database with fixpak 3 or later is 7.2.

    I am not really sure why you cannot select the backup image with Version 8. Is the control center and the DB server on the same version? I know there are some limitations when these are not in synch. Maybe you can just issue the restore command from the command line.

    You might also try just selecting the directory that contains the backup and see what happens. Unfortunately, I don't have access to a system right now.

    In order for this to work, both the backup and restore DB systems must be the same operating system (except that AIX, HP/UX, and Sun Solaris are interchangeable).
    Last edited by Marcus_A; 10-28-03 at 08:36.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256
    I scheduled the restore to run at 12.50 with following result:

    SQL2542N No match for a database image file was found based on the source database alias "BIKE" and timestamp "20031028000000" provided.

    The image is there alright, but it seems it is not regarded a 'valid' backup image.

    I copied the entire tree structure in Windows as suggested in another response by sathyarams, but to no avail....

    Note : the production instance is on Windows NT, the test machine is on W2000
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256
    To add to this the db2diag.log file(???):


    2003-10-28-12.50.04.219000 Instance:DB2 Node:000
    PID:1772(db2syscs.exe) TID:1540 Appid:none
    database utilities sqluMCInitBackupMC Probe:60

    Media controller -- Unable to initialize device C:\Backup Nunspeet05\Bike\BIKE.0\DB2\NODE0000\CATN0000\20031 028\ (zrc = 0x00000000)

    2003-10-28-12.50.04.235000 Instance:DB2 Node:000
    PID:1772(db2syscs.exe) TID:1540 Appid:none
    database utilities sqluMCInitBackupMC Probe:60

    Media controller -- Unable to initialize device C:\Backup Nunspeet05\Bike\BIKE.0\DB2\NODE0000\CATN0000\20031 028\ (zrc = 0x00000000)

    2003-10-28-12.50.04.235001 Instance:DB2 Node:000
    PID:1772(db2syscs.exe) TID:628 Appid:*LOCAL.DB2.009808115003
    database utilities sqludMRResponse Probe:10 Database:BIKE

    DiagData
    12f6 ffff 4249 4b45 ff32 3030 3331 3032 .ö˙˙BIKE˙2003102
    3830 3030 3030 3000 8000000.

    2003-10-28-12.50.04.735000 Instance:DB2 Node:000
    PID:1772(db2syscs.exe) TID:628 Appid:*LOCAL.DB2.009808115003
    database utilities sqludMRResponse Probe:20 Database:BIKE

    DiagData
    12f6 ffff .ö˙˙

    2003-10-28-12.50.04.750000 Instance:DB2 Node:000
    PID:1772(db2syscs.exe) TID:628 Appid:*LOCAL.DB2.009808115003
    oper system services sqloTermWaitPost Probe:20 Database:BIKE

    Unexpected system error 0x6 has occurred.
    This has been mapped to ZRC 0x83000006.

    PID:1772 TID:628 Node:000 Title: SYSTEM ERROR DESCRIPTION
    The handle is invalid.

    2003-10-28-12.50.04.750002 Instance:DB2 Node:000
    PID:1772(db2syscs.exe) TID:628 Appid:*LOCAL.DB2.009808115003
    oper system services sqloTermWaitPost Probe:20 Database:BIKE

    Unexpected system error 0x6 has occurred.
    This has been mapped to ZRC 0x83000006.

    PID:1772 TID:628 Node:000 Title: SYSTEM ERROR DESCRIPTION
    The handle is invalid.

    2003-10-28-12.50.04.781000 Instance:DB2 Node:000
    PID:1772(db2syscs.exe) TID:628 Appid:*LOCAL.DB2.009808115003
    database utilities sqludrsa Probe:110 Database:BIKE

    Restore Terminated.
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    florence-italy
    Posts
    9
    Originally posted by Marcus_A
    A version 7 backup can be restored to version 8 instance. DB2 will automatically do the database conversion. I do not know if there is a restriction that it must be 7.2 rather than 7.1. Any version 7 database with fixpak 3 or later is 7.2.

    I am not really sure why you cannot select the backup image with Version 8. Is the control center and the DB server on the same version? I know there are some limitations when these are not in synch. Maybe you can just issue the restore command from the command line.

    You might also try just selecting the directory that contains the backup and see what happens. Unfortunately, I don't have access to a system right now.

    In order for this to work, both the backup and restore DB systems must be the same operating system (except that AIX, HP/UX, and Sun Solaris are interchangeable).
    Hi all,

    this is my first message here ever.

    I have a similar problem.

    first try)
    I have a version 7 backup and I tried to restore it in a version 8 instance. DB2 did NOT automatically migrate the database.
    It asked me do make a 'MIGRATE DATABASE'.
    I was unable to complete this step because of 'connection problems'.

    I installed DB2 8 using a 'system password'

    My DB2 8 istance has now 2 users: Administrators and db2admin
    None of that worked.

    second try)
    Since the restore was not successfull, I dropped the database to try to restore from scratch, but I doesn't work this was as Marcus wrote.

    third try)
    I had now no databases, so I decided to create a new one. So I created a new DB2 8 Database.
    At this point I tried to repeat the RESTORE DATABASE, and then the ROLLFORWARD and again the operations did complete successfull.

    The new istance is not ready since it needs a 'MIGRATE DATABASE'

    any advice?

    thks in advance
    Leonardo

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256
    Just for the record:

    Using command line interface I finally managed to create a new database from the backup image files:

    Restore database bike from c:\Backup\Bike taken at 20031028000000

    did do the trick : migration and conversion. I checked database parameters and they are in line with the original database at the production server.

    ANY other path than C:\Backup\Bike (be it longer or shorter) failed cause the image cound not be found !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    DB2: it takes a while to get it right, but the fulfillment afterwards.......

    Leonets, these were my steps:

    1. Create offline backup for a database (in my case 7.1 no fixpacks)
    2. Copy the entire tree (folders) to the new server , like:

    Bike\BIKE.0\DB2\NODE0000\CATN0000\20031028 to new server:

    In my case the whole root was:

    C:\Backup\Bike\BIKE.0\DB2\NODE0000\CATN0000\200310 28

    3. Install version 8 on new server
    4. Use command line processor to issue the restore command

    I think you should stick to an offline backup without the need for a roll-forward!!!
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    florence-italy
    Posts
    9
    My configurations is:

    DB2 7 server:

    Windows NT 4.0.1381
    Db2 7.2.1



    DB2 8 server:

    Windows 2000 service pack 4
    Db2 8.1 / release 1 / modification 0

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    florence-italy
    Posts
    9
    Originally posted by blom0344
    Leonets, these were my steps:

    1. Create offline backup for a database (in my case 7.1 no fixpacks)
    2. Copy the entire tree (folders) to the new server , like:

    Bike\BIKE.0\DB2\NODE0000\CATN0000\20031028 to new server:

    In my case the whole root was:

    C:\Backup\Bike\BIKE.0\DB2\NODE0000\CATN0000\200310 28

    3. Install version 8 on new server
    4. Use command line processor to issue the restore command

    I think you should stick to an offline backup without the need for a roll-forward!!!
    Thks

    I don't have now an offline backup, I will try to schedule that in the night so tomorrow I can try to restore.

    I let you all know about that

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256
    That's fine, we should exchange our findings, cause that may be beneficial to us both. I am also curious whether the old 7.1 clients will keep working with a 8.1 server.
    It looks like (few quick tests) that may indeed be the case :-)
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    florence-italy
    Posts
    9
    Originally posted by blom0344
    That's fine, we should exchange our findings, cause that may be beneficial to us both. I am also curious whether the old 7.1 clients will keep working with a 8.1 server.
    It looks like (few quick tests) that may indeed be the case :-)
    Some 7.1 clients tools are working, others not.

    In particular I am not able to use the '7.1 task center' to look for running/completed job of a 8.1 server

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256
    Yes, well I am also curious whether reporting tools and such will keep working with the 7.1 runtime clients and the version 7 middleware. We are using Excel,Access and Business Objects in that respect.....
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    There are quiet a number of limitations documented ... Graphical tools are the worst affected ...

    Have a look in the DB2 V8 Information Centre under Release Information ...

    As an additional tip, it is recommended to migrate all servers to V8 before migrating clients as there are more limitations using V8 client to access a V8 server ..

    Cheers
    Sathyaram


    Originally posted by Leonets
    Some 7.1 clients tools are working, others not.

    In particular I am not able to use the '7.1 task center' to look for running/completed job of a 8.1 server
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256


    In particular I am not able to use the '7.1 task center' to look for running/completed job of a 8.1 server
    I think version 8 expects you to create a new database (or direct to an existing database) to be able to handle jobs. I tried to schedule a restore job and was asked to do do.

    Quite a lot has changed with respect to the GUI tools.............
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •