Unanswered: Obtaining table definition

Hello folks,

I'm new to postgresql and I need some help. Here's the situation: in the database I inherited, there's a table called all_tables that contains information about all the other tables in the database, such as table_name, column_name, column_length. This table was populated manually as the tables were created, for example, you created table xyz then you would add an entry into all_tables that would be something like table_name(xyz), field1(varchar20), field2(varchar20) and so on. Those entries were later used for forms, etc. Now, what happened is that many times people made mistakes and what's in all_tables doesn't necessarily match the real tables. In the example above, the entry would say, table_name(xyz), field1(varchar35), field2(varchar50) instead of the real column definitions. If this was Oracle, I wouldn't need a table like this one, that contains information about the rest of the tables; Oracle would take care of this automatically and a query to dba_tab_columns would always return the real information. Is there anything similar in postgres, or is there any way to retrieve the column information from the tables, and insert/update my "all_columns" table automatically? Something like, "insert into all_tables (select table_name, column_name, column_size from pg_whatever)"
    Now I'm doing it manually, table by table, column by column, and it's killing me. Let alone the mistakes that I may make to compound the situation.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!
    Gabriel.

Re: Obtaining table definition

Originally posted by hp9000
    Hello folks,

I'm new to postgresql and I need some help. Here's the situation: in the database I inherited, there's a table called ...

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!
    Gabriel.
    do you know pg_dump?

For all I know, pg_dump is used to make backups and restores. I'm not sure how it could help me obtaining the meta-data I need, but any suggestions will be welcome.