Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: SQL 2000 Schema Only Replication

    Hello.

    Does anyone know of a way to replicate the SCHEMA objects ONLY with SQL 2000 Server?

    Consider this scenario:
    Server A is the master DB. Server B,C,D are dummy servers that collect data. Server A pulls contents from B, C, and D. All reports and live apps run on server A so B, C, and D are simply their to collect data.

    Consider adding another email field to the User table on server A, so that every user now has a personal email as well as a business email. I would like to replicate this change - the addition of the email field - to all the other servers without transferring all the data from A's user table.

    Does anyone know a good methodology for implementing a system where changes at the schema level are replicated?

    Thank you all in adavance for the help.

    A.W.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3

    Re: SQL 2000 Schema Only Replication

    Originally posted by PlatinumRiver
    Hello.

    Does anyone know of a way to replicate the SCHEMA objects ONLY with SQL 2000 Server?

    Consider this scenario:
    Server A is the master DB. Server B,C,D are dummy servers that collect data. Server A pulls contents from B, C, and D. All reports and live apps run on server A so B, C, and D are simply their to collect data.

    Consider adding another email field to the User table on server A, so that every user now has a personal email as well as a business email. I would like to replicate this change - the addition of the email field - to all the other servers without transferring all the data from A's user table.

    Does anyone know a good methodology for implementing a system where changes at the schema level are replicated?

    Thank you all in adavance for the help.

    A.W.
    If Server A is your publication db and B,C,D are your subscribers you can add a column to a table that is already published by using sp_repladdcolumn. If the table currently isn't being replicated you will have to stop replication make the change and reinitialize replication

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    8
    But won't all the data replicate as well?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    522
    you can use sqlcompare to propagate changes between environments.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    8
    I take it there is now way to do this without a third party tool?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3
    Originally posted by PlatinumRiver
    I take it there is now way to do this without a third party tool?
    With sp_repladdcolumn no data would be added unless you put a default on the column, without a default the column added on B,C, and D will have null in every field, or you could drop replication and just script the db changes and reinitialize replication.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •