Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: Append Query in MS Access

    I have 2 absolutely identical tables in my MS Access database. One table 'Register' has few record. I need to append the records in 'Register1' to 'Register'. But my append query doesnot work at all.
    Any hints?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    465
    How you make the query???????
    Saludos
    Norberto

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    8
    Originally posted by Norberto
    How you make the query???????
    Open a new design query,
    Select the 2 tables,
    Select the type of query to be append from the menu in the toolbar,

    in the append to pop up window select the table 'Register' (this is the one to which i need to add the records)

    and then in the work space of the query where we select the fields, I select *register1, and the *register automatically get selected in the append to field,

    then try to run it,

    i have also tried selecting each field individually instead * but it doesnt work

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    465
    If you want send me an sample base in Access 97 with the query and the tables and I see what is the problem.
    Saludos
    Norberto

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Earth | North America | United States | California | Long Beach
    Posts
    62
    Please descibe what happens when you click on the Run button.

    Also make sure that you are clicking on the Run button and not on the View button.

    Jack

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    8
    Originally posted by Jaash
    Please descibe what happens when you click on the Run button.

    Also make sure that you are clicking on the Run button and not on the View button.

    Jack
    When i hit on the ! mark for run,
    it prompts to make sure if I would like to append the rows, and then nothing,

    but when I check the table no additional rows are added to the table 'Register'

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    192
    Copy and paste this into a query (SQL view)

    insert into tblRegister select * from tblRegister1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    192
    whoops minus the tbl's


    insert into Register select * from Register1

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    8
    Originally posted by access_dude
    whoops minus the tbl's


    insert into Register select * from Register1
    Thanks , I ran some tests and seems to work fine,

    Regards

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •