Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    78

    Angry Unanswered: Corrupt Database?

    I have a small access db that is being used and I was called to make some changes to it.

    I made the changes in the report as required and clicked save. The egg timer comes up but is there forever and access stops responding!

    I have tried using access on different PC's and copying the file locally to make the changes but nothing works.

    I have also tried repairing the database to no sucess.

    Restored a backup from friday when the db worked fione and changes could be made, still a problem!

    If anyone can tell me what could be wrong id appreciate it.

    Thanks

    Neil.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    1,969
    Provided Answers: 1

    Lightbulb

    Open a new (empty) .mdb file and copy all your objects form the old on to the new, then make your changes and save it.

    Good luck

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    78

    Thumbs down

    I have actually just tried that but it still won't work.

    I've never seen this kind of problem before.




    Originally posted by hammbakka
    Open a new (empty) .mdb file and copy all your objects form the old on to the new, then make your changes and save it.

    Good luck

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    1,969
    Provided Answers: 1

    Question

    Did you try to compress your DB? If not then compress it and make my first suggustion.

    Try to convert it to Access Office 97 and try it on other computer.

    I don't know another idea

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    78
    Im actually trying the new database and copying objects in again and so far seems to be working this time...

    ...I'll let you know the outcome in a few mins.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    78
    It worked and I got my changes done but when I imported the rest of the objects it did it's stop responding thing again.

    The db is only being used for this week so that's ok!

    Neil.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •