Unanswered: MySQL & Delphi Data-Aware Components

Hi. I'm a newbie to mysql, delphi, oop et al. I have two identical delphi projects. One is linked to an Access db, the other to a MySQL db, both through ODBC and wach linked to a table of the same structure..

I have a Delphi componen DbNavigator - data aware. It has a post (update) button. Clicking that button on the access project yields a post to the access table. Clicking the same button on the same data but on thhe MySQL project yields an SQL error.

"Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ','detail' SET '(' "

So far as I can see, all MySQL permissions exist for read/write access to
    the DB.

My confusion arises from the fact that to give entry level experience, I
    chose data aware controls which I presumed would not need coding to function at a basic level. This works with Access but apparently not with MySQL. Clearly I am missing something fundamental regarding differences between MySQL's and Access's interactions with data aware components.

Can anyone suggest what it is that I am missing and how can I coax my
    project to write to MySQL?
    Last edited by johnbarri; 11-04-03 at 19:07.

Hi!

DBNavigator is the db-aware control to have navigation via dataset. And which components do you use to have an acces to MySQL table? Any TQuery, TTable or something like that?

MySQL with Delphi data-aware components.

Hi khibinite,

I was using adoconnect, adodataset and adoquery - communicating to by use of the DBNav. I since dropped the query and added adocommand to update, triggered from a button - this on advice received.

Thanks for the interest. Whether or not tha above works (which I suspect it will - I have more to learn but at the end, more control) I would love to hear your take on the original problem.

Thanks,

John.
    Last edited by johnbarri; 11-11-03 at 18:15.

Hi!