Unanswered: Need Some Pointers On Database Design, Complete Newbie

First of all, I admit, I am a complete newbie to databases, and access altogether. Nonetheless, someone assumed because I was a decent computer tech, I'd make a good database guy for our new website rollout. (note, this job was "given" to me, I certainly didn't ask for it)
    To start with, we are an online/mailorder retailer, specializing in out of production and hard to find computer parts. Our inventory runs about 20,000 items, and I've got no idea where to start with this database. Here are my set objectives for the time being:

1. Create a searchable database of all of our products, both to be searched via the new website, and inhouse for our salesmen.
    This search feature would have to include something like along the lines of searching for an AT motherboard, that accepts socket 7 processors, has 2 isa slots, 3 pci slots, uses pc133 memory, has onboard sound, onboard lan, no onboard video (I think you get the idea)

My boss has laid out about 20 different variables he wants the motherboards searchable by..... sounds like a lot of tables to me.

2. Create user interfaces for product sales, ordering, restocking, inventory.... I think you get the idea

3. Create an interface for adding new products to the inventory that forces certain fields to be filled out, while not allowing part numbers to be repeated.

I know this is vauge, but like I said, I've got no idea where to start, I bought a book on access this evening, and will be reading it, trying to figure it out as I look around the net for some basic idea of where to start

Thanks in advance for any advice

Smee

I would use sql server for the database and access for the front end since it sounds like you will have multiple users probably using the database at the same time.