Unanswered: mysql - table size limits

Hi,
    Since I am new to the DB world, I would like to know what is the limit mysql imposes on the table size.
    I have to design a database, that is up 27 x 7 x 365(pretty much!)
    Every hour it logs data which accumulates to about 27K rows.
    So, my question is, If I have just a Table ( with 5 coloumns), will I overflow very soon ?
    Is there a better way, to design the tables? Say, create a Table @ day?
    Currenty, in my design I have 3 tables, each having about 5 columns.
    Atleast 1 table will size about to 27K rows of data at the end of one day.

I have here with me a Windows 2K mcahine ( 1.5GHz Pentium), 1GB Ram, 40GB HardDisk. I am thinking about RAID too. and also possibly SCSI disks to improve performance (if necessary ).

Pls feel free to comment on the above!
    Thanks,

Deepak Ram

Provided Answers: 1

Re: mysql - table size limits

Originally posted by deepakram
    Hi,
    Since I am new to the DB world, I would like to know what is the limit mysql imposes on the table size.
    I have to design a database, that is up 27 x 7 x 365(pretty much!)
    Every hour it logs data which accumulates to about 27K rows.
    So, my question is, If I have just a Table ( with 5 coloumns), will I overflow very soon ?
    Is there a better way, to design the tables? Say, create a Table @ day?
    Currenty, in my design I have 3 tables, each having about 5 columns.
    Atleast 1 table will size about to 27K rows of data at the end of one day.

I have here with me a Windows 2K mcahine ( 1.5GHz Pentium), 1GB Ram, 40GB HardDisk. I am thinking about RAID too. and also possibly SCSI disks to improve performance (if necessary ).

Pls feel free to comment on the above!
    Thanks,

Deepak Ram
    It all depends on your OS, filesystem and size of rows of your table and table handler.

See http://www.mysql.com/doc/en/Table_size.html