Angry Unanswered: MS Access + Database Splitter

Hello,

Our software was initially developed for single user access, but with the ability to be used "multiuser". Now that the network databases are growing above the 400mb mark access to the system at times can be unusable. Ive read a few articles on the database splitter and it seemed as though it may solve some of my performance issues. However, since splitting my database and placing the back end of the server (linked through UNC name not a drive mapping) its become slower. Im new to the concept of linked tables and this perhaps i might have misunderstood the idea. I followed the wizard through and configured the link tables through the manager. Have i missed something? Is performace not the deciding factor of splitting a database?

Thanking you in advance.

Re: MS Access + Database Splitter

Originally posted by homeaway
    Hello,

Our software was initially developed for single user access, but with the ability to be used "multiuser". Now that the network databases are growing above the 400mb mark access to the system at times can be unusable. Ive read a few articles on the database splitter and it seemed as though it may solve some of my performance issues. However, since splitting my database and placing the back end of the server (linked through UNC name not a drive mapping) its become slower. Im new to the concept of linked tables and this perhaps i might have misunderstood the idea. I followed the wizard through and configured the link tables through the manager. Have i missed something? Is performace not the deciding factor of splitting a database?

Thanking you in advance.