Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Unanswered: Please help; ado control in VB, i think i am missing something...

    Hi guys!
    Just trying to finish my college assignment and just stuck on the last part... Right well its basically a Ado control and I want to save some info from a couple text boxes on a form. I thought I knew how to do (same as I did the labels) but unfortunatly I just can't figure it out.
    If any one can help that would be really cool, thanks alot.

    Edd

    This is the coding I am using:

    Private Sub cmdadduser_Click()

    AdoMIS.Refresh
    AdoMIS.Recordset.AddNew
    ' Records User name and password from MIS to be stored in database
    AdoMIS.Recordset.Fields("user name") = txtuser.Text
    AdoMIS.Recordset.Fields("password") = txtpass.Text
    AdoMIS.Recordset.Update

    End Sub

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Are the text boxes bound to the data control ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    4
    Hmmmmm, i'm not too sure, I am using the Adodc dontrol. what makes them bound?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Click on one of the text boxes - go to properties - look at data source - is your data control listed there ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    4

    Talking

    Ah, man sometimes its the most obvious things you miss.... hehehe thanks very much. I feel really stupid now. Oh well I guess its just all a part of learning programming.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Is it working now ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    4

    Cool cheers

    Yep all sorted and ready to hand in. thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •