Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    54

    Unanswered: Link through 6.5 server to 2000

    Is there a way to setup a link through a 6.5 server to a SQL2k database?

    Here is our problem: we have a product running on Sun Solaris that connects to a 6.5 database. We upgraded the database to 2k, nad the product can no longer connect - knowledbase for the product suggests setting up a link on 6.5 server to reference teh 2k box (fooling the product into thinking it is still talking to 6.5). Unfortunately, they give no instruction on how to do this. Any ideas?

    Craig Dols

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    What's the product?

    Been a long time since 6.5, but I didn't think (what, again!) that 6.5 had linked servers....

    Or it's just that I never needed/ used them....
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    54

    Datastage

    The product is Datastage - I know very little about it, I'm just the SQL geek. From what the sysadm is telling me, the version tehy ahve installed does not support SQL2k - and it will be at least a month to get it upgraded - so I need to find a quick temporary fix.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Never heard of it....

    Check out this...

    http://www.tools4datastage.com/
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    54
    Thanks for the link - I don't see what i need there, but maybe they can point me towards something.

    Danke!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665
    Originally posted by Brett Kaiser
    Never heard of it....

    Check out this...

    http://www.tools4datastage.com/
    Datastage usese ODBC connections to get data from MS SQL server to and from.. ODBC is MS SQL native driver. Set up two odbc connections on the DATASTAGE server. Then in DS you can pump data back and forth applying all the rulles that you need. The ds website posted above is awsome and will get you all the help you need.
    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •